Greece provisional Euro 2012 squad named

Greece provisional Euro 2012 squad named

A Football Report
Greece provisional Euro 2012 squad named

Greece manager Fernando Santos has named Greece's provisional 12-man squad for Euro 2012.

Celtic striker Georgios Samaras, as well as Schalke defender Kyriakos Papadopoulos, are among Santos' choices which is comprised of 12 foreign-based football players only.

The 2004 European champions boss will reveal the rest of his Euro 2012 squad on Thursday next week, May 17.

Greece finished at the top of their qualifying group and were drawn in Group A, together with co-host Poland, Russia and Czech Republic.

Provisional squad:

Goalkeepers: Dionisis Chiotis (Apoel) e Alexandros Tzorvas (Palermo);

Defenders: Vangelis Moras (Cesena), Kyriakos Papadopoulos (Schalke 04), Sokratis Papastathopoulos (Werder Bremen) e Giorgos Tzavelas (Monaco);

Midfield: Panagiotis Kone (Bologna), Athanasios Petsos (Kaiserslautern), Alexandos Tziolis (Monaco) e Kostas Fortounis (Kaiserslautern);

Attackers: Theofanis Gekas (Samsunspor) e Giorgios Samaras (Celtic).